At Bath & North East Somerset we value our customers and their feedback so we closely monitor all the compliments, comments and complaints that we receive and use the information gained to improve the services that we provide.

As part of these improvements we provide feedback to our customers on issues that have been identified as a result of the complaints received. We will highlight any service improvements that have taken place, or provide further information to clarify any issues that may have arisen as a result of any policy or legislative changes.

  • View an interactive dashboard of last quarter (the default view shows ALL corporate cases but the drop down menu allows you to select single or multiple services of interest so that the charts change to show relevant data).

Interactive dashboard

  • The last quarterly report is available for you to download below:

Quarterly customer feedback summary Oct - Dec 2018 (PDF 270KB)

If you would like this report in a different format, please contact us. Previous quarterly reports are also available at the bottom of this page.

This report gives a corporate overview of the customer feedback that has been received and responded to in the past quarter, and notes any key actions or considerations that have resulted from a high level review.

Our Service Teams, responsible for specific services delivered by the Local Authority, handle their own customers' feedback cases and provide quarterly updates on trends, issues or changes that the service is undertaking as a direct or partial result of the feedback they have received. Some of the key outcomes of that feedback are detailed below, and in the “You said / We did…” section of the quarterly summary report, compiled directly from the Customer Feedback Officers (CFOs) responsible for each service area.

Service

Trends / recurring themes

You said…

We did…

Adult Social Care

No feedback received during this quarter via the corporate process.

 

 

Benefits, Business Rates and Council Tax

4 complaints received during the quarter, regarding recovery of Council Tax and staff telephone manner.

 

Suggestions were received regarding improvements to online services.

 

 

Bereavement Services

No feedback received during this quarter via the corporate process.

 

 

Business Continuity

No trend or theme emerged from the feedback received this quarter.

 

 

Business Support and Finance

No trend or theme emerged from the feedback received this quarter.

 

 

Children & Young People

No trend or theme emerged from the feedback received this quarter.

 

 

Communications and Marketing

No trend or theme emerged from the feedback received this quarter.

 

 

Development, Regeneration, Skills & Employment

No trend or theme emerged from the feedback received this quarter.

 

 

Emergency Planning

No feedback received during this quarter via the corporate process.

 

 

Health Improvement Services

No trend or theme emerged from the feedback received this quarter.

 

 

Heritage Services

No trend or theme emerged from the feedback received this quarter.

Complaint regarding a specific procurement process

Investigating the procurement process

Highways & Traffic

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The main themes of complaints this quarter include a continuation from Q2 regarding the Clash of Events booked in Kingsmead Square (this accounts for 7 out of 63). Other issues reported cover frustration with developer and Utility Road Works, and with our Resurfacing Programme.

 

We get complaints based on developer or utility based works which are not our responsibility but the public expect us to enforce.

 

 

 

Our Drainage works on Lower Road Hinton Blewett also received thanks for minimising disruption over a long period of works being carried out.

 

Following numerous complaints in previous Quarters the residents of Marlborough Buildings expressed their thanks for the improvements that were completed by the Design Team. They added that it had improved the area and were grateful for the completed works.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There was a suggestion that the closures for the Christmas Market would be easier to follow if presented on a map. The Traffic Management Team is looking at this possibility for 2019.

We received complaints regarding Developer works at Maynard Terrace and Staunton Lane. Several people complained of disruption and noise caused by these works.

 

 

 

 

 

 

We received several complaints about Utility company works causing delays and disruption.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Several complaints were sent in regarding road works on the Brougham Hayes Junction causing disruption and noise. 

We assured all the complainants that we work closely with developers to ensure that if works on the highway are necessary they are done safely and with as little disruption as possible to the public. We acknowledged that disruption is not always completely avoidable but is a necessary part of upgrading the network.

 

Our Streetworks team reassured all the complainants that we work with the utility companies to try and minimise disruption. During this time of year with the embargo on works being carried out over Christmas this does put time constraints on companies to get their work done. We explained that emergency works are unavoidable but companies work to reduce congestion and delays wherever possible. A common complaint was that residents had not been informed of the works ahead of time – unfortunately utility companies do not have to notify residents – although this would be good practice to adopt.

 

Due to planned network improvement works coinciding with Utility works in this area there were delays caused over a couple of weeks. We apologised for the noise and disruption and explained that the works were necessary and we were trying to complete them as quickly as possible. 

 

Despite having several complaints, we had a compliment sent through regarding the Brougham Hayes road works. Hayesfield School were grateful for our help with making sure their School Open Day was supplied with clear signage whilst the junction was closed.

Housing Services

 

 

 

 

HR

No feedback received during this quarter via the corporate process.

 

 

Improvement & Performance

No trend or theme emerged from the feedback received last quarter.

 

 

Legal & Democratic Services

No trend or theme emerged from the feedback received last quarter.

 

 

Libraries, One Stop Shops & Council Connect

We received several complaints that we don’t provide change for customers using printers/photocopiers in the library.

 

Machine displaying contactless symbol but not allowing payment by card has proved confusing.

 

We received feedback from 7 customers stating they were unhappy with the way they have been spoken to by CC, OSS and Out of Hours emergency staff.

 

 

Positive feedback regarding display’s in Keynsham library children’s area stating ‘Very inventive, well thought out, very, very good.’

No change given for copiers/printers in library. Printer has contactless payment icon on keypad, but doesn’t do contactless. People find this misleading.

 

 

Gaps in service from mobile library.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Queues for copiers/printers.

 

 

 

 

Informed people this is policy. Printed signs. Suggest other places they might be able to get change.

 

 

 

This time these have all been down to mechanical failure of a very old vehicle. Is due to be replaced in April plus we have relief drivers so service should be consistent.

 

 

Second machine is now up and running and has alleviated this problem.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Parking Services

In Parking Services most feedback relates to individual issues or concerns. Feedback often relates to the issue of penalty charge notices which is replied to in accordance with the Parking statutory process rather than the Feedback and Complaint policy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You said you were unhappy about the cost of parking in Bath increase in parking charges which came into effect in August 2018. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You were frustrated about receiving a Bus Lane Penalty Charge Notice

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We continue to receive positive feedback about the level of customer service we provide:

 

You said:- “Thank you for clarifying the requirements for our Blue Badge application in the way you have.

Thank you for your professionalism and patience in leading me through the Section needed to complete the form”

 

“I really do appreciate you looking in to this and am very grateful with the outcome achieved”.

 

We’ve explained that new charging levels were introduced in August 2018 following public consultation to align with the objectives of the new Parking Strategy; to improve air quality and associated health impacts for all, help tackle congestion and ease parking pressures, given Bath is a historic city with narrow and limited roads.

 

Parking charges are identified as one of the main ways to influence behaviours and travel choices to encourage the use of more sustainable options such as Park & Ride Services and other Public Transport over car journeys.

 

Whilst not a driver in itself, it is also the case that charges haven’t increased since 2010. Any increase in revenue to the Council is only used to fund improvements to transport and transport related schemes, such as ‘Safer Routes To School’.

 

 

We provided advice about how to appeal against the issue of a Penalty Charge Notice if you think it shouldn’t have been issued.

 

We also explained that Bus Lanes are in place to assist the free flow of public service vehicles in the city and to reduce the number of vehicles queuing through central areas in support of sustainable transport options and the improvement of air quality for all.

 

 

 

We are pleased to receive positive feedback and always pass this on to our colleagues Customer Service is a key priority for us. We continue to support and develop our teams to uphold the highest of standards as Ambassadors of the Council

 

 

 

 

 

Parks & Green Spaces

6 complaints were received during the quarter, no theme identified.

 

One compliment was received thanking both Council Connect and Parks for a quick response when they enquired about taking some felled wood from Brickfields.

Two complaints were received about Staddlestones in Midsomer Norton regarding the gates and play area.

 

 

 

 

 

Two complaints were about trees.

 

 

 

 

One complaint regarded hedge cutting. The customer had been told on 2 previous occasions that this would be carried out over the winter months as scheduled.

Customers were advised that gates had been ordered and were awaiting delivery/installation.

We also advised that this area had 2 new springies installed. The play bark was being removed and a new surface area was installed.

 

We informed customers that one tree was not on Council land and the second did not require any essential work.

 

The customer had been told previously that this would be carried out over the winter months as scheduled.  The Parks team have introduced a scheduled maintenance of council owned hedges to ensure efficiency and later in the year will be sharing this information online to reduce public requests for information on this matter.

 

Passenger Transport

No feedback received during this quarter via the corporate process.

 

In Passenger Transport we receive very low levels of feedback. Most feedback received is positive as the service is viewed as an important service helping people access services and facilities

 

Planning and Building Control

The main reason for complaint, this quarter, is disagreement with planning application decisions, officer handling of planning applications and 2 complaints in respect of the Planning Portal new admin charge for submitting planning applications.

Planning Portal charge £20 admin fee to handle planning applications, and the Council have withdrawn the availability to submit planning applications direct by email.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Extract from a compliment received:

 

“Staff went beyond what could reasonably be expected of them. Easy to work with, very helpful and professional”

 

The planning system was integrated to the Planning Portal many years ago and significantly reduced processing times for validation and registration of applications.  Local Authorities were not consulted over the Portal’s decision to introduce the admin charge but since going live there have been very few issues and concerns voiced to us.  Applications submitted through the Planning Portal take half the time to process as those submitted via email, particularly now that payments are also taken too. It may be cheaper overall for applicants to pay the £20 admin charge rather than revert to paper and posting. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Policy & Partnerships

No themes this quarter, however, one complaint we received was regarding rough sleepers and last month we received 2 suggestions on the same topic.

As mentioned we had one complaint regarding rough sleepers. 

 

 

 

We also had a suggestion regarding the Voicebox questionnaire that was sent out with the Council Tax leaflet.  The resident questioned why the Council was collecting such information. 

Response to the complaint regarding rough sleepers was that the Council are working with various partners to address the issue. 

 

We responded to the query regarding Voicebox, explaining the purpose of the questionnaire and how the data is used. 

Project Delivery, Property & Facilities

 

No feedback received during this quarter via the corporate process.

 

 

Public Health

No feedback received during this quarter via the corporate process.

 

 

Public Protection

No trend or theme emerged from the feedback received this quarter.

 

 

Public Toilets

No trend or theme emerged from the feedback received this quarter.

 

 

Public Transport

In Public Transport, most feedback relates to individual issues or concerns. We also receive feedback for services provided and managed by commercial bus operators and liaise with them as appropriate.

You were concerned about the level of service being provided by some bus services for example provided by First Bus. 

We have contacted the relevant service providers on your behalf to ask they respond to you regarding the particular concerns raised on an individual basis

Risk & Assurance

No trend or theme emerged from the feedback received this quarter.

 

 

Street Cleansing

Most feedback relates to individual issues or concerns.

These issues and concerns are investigated and resolved, on a case by case basis.

 

 

 

Waste – Business Waste

Most feedback relates to individual issues or concerns.

These issues and concerns are investigated and resolved, on a case by case basis.

 

 

 

Waste - Garden Waste Collections

Most feedback relates to individual issues or concerns.

These issues and concerns are investigated and resolved, on a case by case basis.

 

 

 

Waste – Kerbside Recycling

Most feedback relates to individual issues or concerns.

These issues and concerns are investigated and resolved, on a case by case basis.

 

 

 

Waste – Recycling Centres

Most feedback relates to individual issues or concerns.

These issues and concerns are investigated and resolved, on a case by case basis.

 

 

 

Waste – Rubbish Collections

Most feedback relates to individual issues or concerns.

These issues and concerns are investigated and resolved, on a case by case basis.

 

 

 

Quarterly reports 2017/18

Quarterly reports 2016/17

Quarterly reports 2015/16

Quarterly reports 2014/15

 

Your rating: 

Your rating: None Average: 2 (6 votes)
To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.